google+facebooktwitter
Full moon | Calendar | Memo | Knowledge | Experiences | Poems

Blog | Links | Banner | Wishing candles | E-cards | Postcards | Donations

Information about the total lunar eclipse
on Friday, 27th July 2018
(in Europe, Africa, in the Middle and Near East visible / in Australia, Asia and South America partially visible / in Central and North America and the Pacific not visible)


Easily explained
During a lunar eclipse, the Moon moves through the shadow of the Earth. This means that the Earth is positioned exactly between the Sun and the Moon and casts its shadow onto the Moon. This is only possible at the full moon and when some other requirements are met. Depending on whether the Moon passes the partial or the core shadow of the Earth, we speak of a partial or total lunar eclipse.



The copper-colored Moon
When the Moon touches the core shadow of the Earth, the first parts of the moon surface begin to darken. If you would actually stand on the Moon, you would experience a total solar eclipse! As soon as the Moon immerses completely in the core shadow, the surface of the Moon begins to glow copper red. Towards the centre of the core shadow, the light fades and turns dark red to brownish grey.

About the visibility
This total lunar eclipse will be visible in Europe, Africa, in the Middle and Near East. In Australia, Asia and South America it will be partially visible. It can't be seen in Central and North America and the Pacific.

• Australia: partially visible
• Asia: partially visible
• Middle East: visible
• Near East: visible
• Europe: visible
• Africa: visible
• South America: partially visible
• Central Amerika: not visible
• North America: not visible
• Pacific: not visible



The exact moment and sequence of the total lunar eclipse in Universal Time (UTC) is:
Friday * 27th July 2018 * 08:21:44 pm (UTC)

• Penumbral eclipse begins: 05:14:47 pm (UTC)
• Partial eclipse begins: 06:24:27 pm (UTC)
• Total eclipse begins: 07:30:15 pm (UTC)
• Full moon: 08:20:21 pm (UTC)
• Maximum of the total lunar eclipse: 08:21:44 pm (UTC)
• Total eclipse ends: 09:13:11 pm (UTC)
• Partial eclipse ends: 10:19:00 pm (UTC)
• Penumbral eclipse ends: 11:28:38 pm (UTC)



The exact moment and sequence of the total lunar eclipse in Central Europe (CEST) is:
Friday * 27th July 2018 * 10:21:44 pm (CEST)

• Penumbral eclipse begins: 07:14:47 pm (CEST)
• Partial eclipse begins: 08:24:27 pm (CEST)
• Total eclipse begins: 09:30:15 pm (CEST)
• Full moon: 10:20:21 pm (CEST)
• Maximum of the total lunar eclipse: 10:21:44 pm (CEST)
• Total eclipse ends: 11:13:11 pm (CEST)
• Partial eclipse ends: Saturday, 12:19:00 am (CEST)
• Penumbral eclipse ends: Saturday, 01:28:38 am (CEST)



The moment of the total lunar eclipse in other time zones:
WELLINGTON = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 08:21:44 am (NZST)
SYDNEY = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 06:21:44 am (AEST)
TOKYO = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 05:21:44 am (JST)
BEIJING = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 04:21:44 am (CST)
BANGKOK = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 03:21:44 am (ICT)
DELHI = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 01:51:44 am (IST)
DUBAI = Saturday * 28th July 2018 * 12:21:44 am (GST)
MOSCOW = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 11:21:44 pm (MSK)
BERLIN = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 10:21:44 pm (CEST)
LAGOS = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 09:21:44 pm (WAT)
LONDON = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 09:21:44 pm (BST)
RIO = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 05:21:44 pm (BRT)
SANTIAGO = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 04:21:44 pm (CLT)
NEW YORK = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 04:21:44 pm (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 03:21:44 pm (CDT)
CALGARY = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 02:21:44 pm (MDT)
LOS ANGELES = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 01:21:44 pm (PDT)
ANCHORAGE = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 12:21:44 pm (AKDT)
HONOLULU = Friday * 27th July 2018 * 10:21:44 am (HAST)



Links
You may find further interesting information about this subject at:

nasa.gov

www.calsky.com


Back

Information about the total lunar eclipse
on Wednesday, 31st January 2018
(in Australia and Asia visible / in the Middle and Near East, in Central and North America partially visible / in Europe, Africa and South America not visible)


Easily explained
During a lunar eclipse, the Moon moves through the shadow of the Earth. This means that the Earth is positioned exactly between the Sun and the Moon and casts its shadow onto the Moon. This is only possible at the full moon and when some other requirements are met. Depending on whether the Moon passes the partial or the core shadow of the Earth, we speak of a partial or total lunar eclipse.



The copper-colored Moon
When the Moon touches the core shadow of the Earth, the first parts of the moon surface begin to darken. If you would actually stand on the Moon, you would experience a total solar eclipse! As soon as the Moon immerses completely in the core shadow, the surface of the Moon begins to glow copper red. Towards the centre of the core shadow, the light fades and turns dark red to brownish grey.

About the visibility
This total lunar eclipse will be completely visible in Australia, Asia and the Pacific. In the Indian Ocean, the Near and Middle East, in Central and North America it will be partially visible. It can't be seen in Europe, Africa and South America.

• Australia: visible
• Asia: visible
• Middle East: partially visible
• Near East: partially visible
• Europe: not visible
• Africa: not visible
• South America: not visible
• Central Amerika: partially visible
• North America: partially visible
• Pacific: visible



The exact moment and sequence of the total lunar eclipse in Universal Time (UTC) is:
Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 01:29:50 pm pm (UTC)

• Penumbral eclipse begins: 10:51:13 am (UTC)
• Total eclipse begins: 12:51:47 pm (UTC)
• Full moon: 01:26:44 pm (UTC)
• Maximum of the total lunar eclipse: 01:29:50 pm (UTC)
• Total eclipse ends: 02:07:51 pm (UTC)
• Penumbral eclipse ends: 04:08:29 pm (UTC)



The moment of the total lunar eclipse in other time zones:
WELLINGTON = Thursday * 1st February 2018 * 02:29:50 am (NZDT)
SYDNEY = Thursday * 1st February 2018 * 12:29:50 am (AEDT)
TOKYO = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 10:29:50 pm (JST)
BEIJING = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 09:29:50 pm (CST)
BANGKOK = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 08:29:50 pm (ICT)
DELHI = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 06:59:50 pm (IST)
DUBAI = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 05:29:50 pm (GST)
MOSCOW = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 04:29:50 pm (MSK)
BERLIN = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 02:29:50 pm (CET)
LAGOS = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 02:29:50 pm (WAT)
LONDON = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 01:29:50 pm (GMT)
RIO = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 11:29:50 am (BRST)
SANTIAGO = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 10:29:50 am (CLST)
NEW YORK = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 08:29:50 am (EST)
MEXICO CITY = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 07:29:50 am (CST)
CALGARY = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 06:29:50 am (MST)
LOS ANGELES = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 05:29:50 am (PST)
ANCHORAGE = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 04:29:50 am (AKST)
HONOLULU = Wednesday * 31st January 2018 * 03:29:50 am (HAST)



Links
You may find further interesting information about this subject at:

nasa.gov

www.calsky.com


Back

Top Questions | Participating | About us | History | Contact