google+facebooktwitter
Full moon | Calendar | Memo | Knowledge | Experiences | Poems

Blog | Links | Banner | Wishing candles | E-cards | Postcards | Donations

Information about the partial lunar eclipse
on Tuesday, 16 July 2019
(in Europe, Africa, the Middle and Near East visible / in Asia, Australia, and South America partially visible / in North and Central America and the Pacific not visible)


Easily explained
During a lunar eclipse, the Moon moves through the shadow of the Earth. This means that the Earth is positioned exactly between the Sun and the Moon and casts its shadow onto the Moon. This is only possible at the full moon and when some other requirements are met. Depending on whether the Moon passes the partial or the core shadow of the Earth, we speak of a partial or total lunar eclipse.



The copper-colored Moon
When the Moon touches the core shadow of the Earth, the first parts of the moon surface begin to darken. If you would actually stand on the Moon, you would experience a total solar eclipse! As soon as the Moon immerses completely in the core shadow, the surface of the Moon begins to glow copper red. Towards the centre of the core shadow, the light fades and turns dark red to brownish grey.

About the visibility
This partial lunar eclipse will be visible in Europe, Africa, in the Middle and Near East. In Asia, Australia, and South America it will be partially visible. It can't be seen in North and Central America and the Pacific.

• Australia: partially visible
• Asia: partially visible
• Middle East: visible
• Near East: visible
• Africa: visible
• Europe: visible
• South America: partially visible
• Central Amerika: not visible
• North America: not visible
• Pacific: not visible



The exact moment and sequence of the partial lunar eclipse in Universal Time (UTC) is:
Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 9:30:44 pm (UTC)

• Penumbral eclipse begins: 6:43:51 pm (UTC)
• Partial eclipse begins: 8:01:43 pm (UTC)
• Maximum of the partial lunar eclipse: 9:30:44 pm (UTC)
• Full moon: 9:38:13 pm (UTC)
• Partial eclipse ends: 10:59:39 pm (UTC)
• Penumbral eclipse ends: Wednesday, 12:17:38 am (UTC)



The exact moment and sequence of the partial lunar eclipse in Central Europe (CEST) is:
Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 11:30:44 pm (CEST)

• Penumbral eclipse begins: 8:43:51 pm (CEST)
• Partial eclipse begins: 10:01:43 pm (CEST)
• Maximum of the partial lunar eclipse: 11:30:44 pm (CEST)
• Full moon: 11:38:13 pm (CEST)
• Partial eclipse ends: Wednesday, 12:59:39 am (CEST)
• Penumbral eclipse ends: Wednesday, 2:17:38 am (CEST)



The moment of the total lunar eclipse in other time zones:
WELLINGTON = Wednesday * 17 July 2019 * 9:30:44 am (NZST)
SYDNEY = Wednesday * 17 July 2019 * 7:30:44 am (AEST)
TOKYO = Wednesday * 17 July 2019 * 6:30:44 am (JST)
BEIJING = Wednesday * 17 July 2019 * 5:30:44 am (CST)
BANGKOK = Wednesday * 17 July 2019 * 4:30:44 am (ICT)
DELHI = Wednesday * 17 July 2019 * 3:00:44 am (IST)
DUBAI = Wednesday * 17 July 2019 * 1:30:44 am (GST)
MOSCOW = Wednesday * 17 July 2019 * 12:30:44 am (MSK)
BERLIN = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 11:30:44 pm (CEST)
LAGOS = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 10:30:44 pm (WAT)
LONDON = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 10:30:44 pm (BST)
RIO = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 6:30:44 pm (BRT)
SANTIAGO = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 5:30:44 pm (CLT)
NEW YORK = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 5:30:44 pm (EDT)
MEXICO CITY = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 4:30:44 pm (CDT)
CALGARY = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 3:30:44 pm (MDT)
LOS ANGELES = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 2:30:44 pm (PDT)
ANCHORAGE = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 1:30:44 pm (AKDT)
HONOLULU = Tuesday * 16 July 2019 * 11:30:44 am (HAST)



Links
You may find further interesting information about this subject at:

timeanddate.com

nasa.gov

www.calsky.com


Back

Information about the total lunar eclipse
on Monday, 21 January 2019
(in Europe, North, Central and South America visible / in Africa, the Middle and Near East partially visible / in Asia, Australia and the Pacific not visible)


Easily explained
During a lunar eclipse, the Moon moves through the shadow of the Earth. This means that the Earth is positioned exactly between the Sun and the Moon and casts its shadow onto the Moon. This is only possible at the full moon and when some other requirements are met. Depending on whether the Moon passes the partial or the core shadow of the Earth, we speak of a partial or total lunar eclipse.



The copper-colored Moon
When the Moon touches the core shadow of the Earth, the first parts of the moon surface begin to darken. If you would actually stand on the Moon, you would experience a total solar eclipse! As soon as the Moon immerses completely in the core shadow, the surface of the Moon begins to glow copper red. Towards the centre of the core shadow, the light fades and turns dark red to brownish grey.

About the visibility
This total lunar eclipse will be visible in Europe, North, Central and South America. In Africa, the Middle and Near East it will be partially visible. It can't be seen in Asia, Australia and the Pacific.

• Australia: not visible
• Asia: not visible
• Middle East: partially visible
• Near East: partially visible
• Africa: partially visible
• Europe: visible
• South America: visible
• Central Amerika: visible
• North America: visible
• Pacific: not visible



The exact moment and sequence of the total lunar eclipse in Universal Time (UTC) is:
Monday * 21 January 2019 * 5:12:16 am (UTC)

• Penumbral eclipse begins: 02:36:30 am (UTC)
• Partial eclipse begins: 3:33:54 am (UTC)
• Total eclipse begins: 4:41:17 am (UTC)
• Full moon: 5:16:05 am (UTC)
• Maximum of the total lunar eclipse: 5:12:16 am (UTC)
• Total eclipse ends: 5:43:16 am (UTC)
• Partial eclipse ends: 6:50:39 am (UTC)
• Penumbral eclipse ends: 7:48:00 am (UTC)



The exact moment and sequence of the total lunar eclipse in Central Europe (CET) is:
Monday * 21 January 2019 * 6:12:16 am (CET)

• Penumbral eclipse begins: 3:36:30 am (CET)
• Partial eclipse begins: 4:33:54 am (CET)
• Total eclipse begins: 5:41:17 am (CET)
• Full moon: 6:16:05 am (CET)
• Maximum of the total lunar eclipse: 6:12:16 am (CET)
• Total eclipse ends: 6:43:16 am (CET)
• Partial eclipse ends: Saturday, 7:50:39 am (CET)
• Penumbral eclipse ends: Saturday, 8:48:00 am (CET)



The moment of the total lunar eclipse in other time zones:
WELLINGTON = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 6:12:16 pm (NZDT)
SYDNEY = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 4:12:16 pm (AEDT)
TOKYO = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 2:12:16 pm (JST)
PEKING = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 1:12:16 pm (CST)
BANGKOK = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 12:12:16 pm (ICT)
DELHI = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 10:42:16 am (IST)
DUBAI = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 9:12:16 am (GST)
MOSKAU = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 8:12:16 am (MSK)
BERLIN = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 6:12:16 am (CET)
LAGOS = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 6:12:16 am (WAT)
LONDON = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 5:12:16 am (GMT)
RIO = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 3:12:16 am (BRST)
SANTIAGO = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 2:12:16 am (CLST)
NEW YORK = Monday * 21 January 2019 * 0:12:16 am (EST)
MEXIKO CITY = Sunday * 20 January 2019 * 11:12:16 pm (CST)
CALGARY = Sunday * 20 January 2019 * 10:12:16 pm (MST)
LOS ANGELES = Sunday * 20 January 2019 * 9:12:16 pm (PST)
ANCHORAGE = Sunday * 20 January 2019 * 8:12:16 pm (AKST)
HONOLULU = Sunday * 20 January 2019 * 7:12:16 pm (HAST)



Links
You may find further interesting information about this subject at:

nasa.gov

www.calsky.com


Back

Top Questions | Participating | About us | History | Contact